Dialog Restore master data

In this dialog, you define how and where backed up master data is to be restored.

The following master data can be restored via the dialog:

  • Parts data
  • Basic projects
  • Forms
  • Outlines
  • Macros
  • Plot frames
  • Project-independent settings.
  • Symbol libraries
  • Dictionaries

Overview of the main dialog elements:

Master data type:

Select the master data type here that you want to restore.

Backup directory:

Select the folder where the backed up master data are located. With you open a selection dialog and specify the desired directory.

You can use the Insert path variable popup menu item to branch to the dialog Select path variable where you can select one of the available path variables.

[Show contents]:

If you have selected a file in the <Master data> list, you can use this button to display the Contents of backup file.

Master data: <Master data type>:

This list displays the master data in the selected directory. Select the files you wish to restore.

Description:

This field displays the text description that was entered when the master data was backed up.

Target directory:

Enter the directory where the restored master data are to be saved. Click to open the dialog for choosing a directory and then navigate to the desired directory.

You can use the Insert path variable popup menu item to branch to the dialog Select path variable where you can select one of the available path variables.

Subdirectory:

This field is used to display the subdirectory beneath the default directory that contained the master data at the time it was backed up. If there was no subdirectory, the field is left blank.

Restore in subdirectory:

Note:

This check box is grayed out if the master data was backed up to a "master directory"; for example if the symbol libraries were backed up to the $(MD_SYMBOLS) directory. On the other hand, if a subdirectory of the symbol directory is used as the master directory for the backup, this subdirectory will be included in the data backup and will be suggested when it is restored, i.e. the check box is not grayed out.

If this check box is selected, the master data is restored in the original subdirectory that is displayed in the Subdirectory field.
If the check box is deselected, the master data is restored directly in the directory displayed in the Target directory field.

If you want to use the subdirectory but it does not exist, a prompt appears, asking if you want it to be created.

See also