When you reorganize a project, then deleted data is irretrievably removed from the project database. The project database is reduced in size.
Note:
We recommend that you make a backup copy of the project before reorganizing since this action affects the entire project database.
Precondition:
You have selected a project in the page navigator.
- Select the following commands: File > Extras > Command group Organize > Project > Command group Optimize > Compress project.
- Click [...] next to the Settings field in the Compress project dialog.
- In the Settings: Compression dialog, select the scheme you want to edit or create a new one.
- In the field Data to be compressed activate the check box Reorganize project and keep the check box Advanced mode deselected.
- Click
(Save). - Click [OK].
The project is reorganized.
Correct project data structures
For reorganization, an advanced mode is available. This mode allows for automatic correction of field length excesses in the project database as well as for internal checks of the sorting IDs of the project structure and their automatic correction, if necessary.
Field length excesses can result from entering very long identifiers, numbers, and designations. the cause for this being that most database fields of the project database have a length limit. A field length excess can lead to truncating the entered data. This may lead to incorrect results.
- To open the Settings: Compression dialog proceed as described above under "Reorganizing Projects".
- In the field Data to be compressed select the check box Advanced mode below the check box Reorganize project.
- Confirm your entries.
The project is reorganized.
Parts that exist double in the project are removed. The connections are deleted and subsequently generated again and optimized.
In addition, the project database is searched for field length excesses. If a field length excess is discovered, the database is restructured so that the field length of the respective database field is adjusted in accordance with the entered data length (plus a 10 percent reserve). Then, the new field length is stored in the project.
Tip:
You can also reorganize projects that can no longer be opened in Eplan by using the action Manage project (
See also