Projects: Basics
In the Projects area you manage the data relevant to your project, such as Eplan projects as well as project-specific documents and files. Here you can upload projects in the form of ZW1 files and organize them in a structured environment. You can download the projects saved in the data management from the Eplan Cloud at any time and use them in a locally installed Eplan solution.
A project (*.zw1) is only visible for the creator, the user with whom the project was shared and the administrator of the organization. Folders in the Projects area are visible to the administrator as well as to all other users.
Supported file formats
Projects that are managed in the data management must have the format of a backup file *.zw1.
Maximum project size
Only projects with a maximum size of 2 GB can be uploaded.
Download, save and open a project
Projects which you open from the data management in the Eplan solution are downloaded and saved locally on your computer beforehand and are only then opened in the installed Eplan solution. This means each modification you perform on the project is local and can therefore be performed offline.
You can also download projects in the browser and open them at a later point in the Eplan solution with and without an Internet connection. As soon as you have finished your modifications, you can just upload the project again and the updated project is available again for those users with whom you have shared the project.
Upload a project
If you upload a project with your modifications to the same folder from which you downloaded the project, the file in the data management is overwritten completely during the upload.
Ensure beforehand that no other user with whom you share the project is working on the project. If another user is working on the project and uploads the project after you, your file is overwritten completely. Note therefore the modification date and the name in the details and coordinate with the other users of the project.
Note
If you have published this project in eView, you have to publish the updated project again in eView.
Share a project
With the Designer role within the Projects area, you can share projects and files with other users and therefore give them the possibility to download, edit and upload these again.
When sharing a project or a file, the main administrator of an organization or users with the Admin role can invite a new user to the organization and assign them permission for this project or this file in the data management. The user receives an invitation via e-mail both for the organization as well as an invitation for the data management. Users without the Admin role can only share projects or files with other users within the organization.
If you have Edit permission, you can also share projects or files that have been shared with you with another user. If your period of use is limited for projects, the user that you invited can only access projects within this period. You can also specify the period for the invited user. However, it has to lie within your period of use.