You have opened a project whose parts are to be synchronized. No editor for working on master data (Plot frame editor, Form editor, etc.) is opened.
Tab Master data > Command group Parts > Synchronize.
In this dialog you define which data is to be synchronized in which direction. Please note that the parts are stored in the project, i.e., copied to the project, rather than being referenced. This means that the parts used are saved in the Project.
Overview of the main dialog elements:
Enter the text for which the parts are to be filtered into this field. The search takes into consideration both the stored parts as well as the system parts. Only the part numbers are searched.
If you want to return to the original view of the parts, remove the search term from the entry field. Click
(Delete) to do so.
Stored parts (<Project name>):
The list of parts used in the project contains the following entries:
- Status: Status information such as "Newer" or "Identical"
- Part number: Part number from the parts management module
- Variant: Variant designation of the part
- Last change: Date of the last change of the part in the project.
The entries are sorted in alphanumeric order in columns. By default they are sorted by the Part number entry. If you click the Variant column, all the entries are shown sorted by a variant designation.
System part (<Name of the parts database>):
The list of system parts contains the following entries:
- Status: Status information such as "Not stored" or "Identical"
- Part number: Part number from the parts management module
- Variant: Variant designation of the part
- Last change: Date of the last change to the part in the parts management module.
These entries are also sorted in alphanumeric order in columns. By default they are sorted by the Part number entry. If you click the Variant column, all the entries are shown sorted by a variant designation.
|
Command |
Meaning |
|---|---|
|
Select all |
Selects all the elements in the list. |
|
Adjust column width |
Adjusts the width of all table columns so that both the headings and column contents are fully legible. |
|
Open hyperlink |
Allows opening of external documents or an image file, as long as this is assigned to the part in the parts management. |
|
Configure representation |
Opens the Configure representation dialog in which you can define the properties to be displayed in the list. |
Use the arrow buttons to store individual system parts in the project, or to transfer individual parts that are stored in the project to the system master data. Multiple selection is possible in both lists.
Eplan opens a message window to tell you to how many parts / system parts were updated; another message is generated if the stored parts and system parts are identical.
This drop-down list displays all the available filters. A chosen filter is activated automatically. The entry "- Not activated -" deactivates the filter and causes an unfiltered display of the data.
- Show differences: Select this filter to show only differing data in both the project and system parts, regardless of which data is older or newer.
- Project master data: Select this filter to show only parts stored in the project that are older than the corresponding system parts.
- System master data: Select this filter to show only system parts that are older than the corresponding parts stored in the project.
|
Menu item |
Meaning |
|---|---|
|
Update current project |
Replaces outdated stored parts in the project with more recent system parts. |
|
Complete current system |
Supplements the system (i.e., the parts database) with parts that were present in the project, but not in the system. |
|
Compare stored part |
Only available if a stored part has been marked ("Component", "Assembly" or "Module" record type) that is also available in the parts database. Opens the Compare parts dialog in which the properties of the stored part and the properties of the associated system part are compared with each other. |
Notes:
- If synchronization would replace a newer version of the master data object with an older one (identified by the entry under Last change), then a message is generated, and you can still cancel the update.
- The master data comparison is not case-sensitive with regard to file names. The file name ABC.XYZ is identical to abc.xyz.
- If a part is present in the project, but not in the system, synchronization from the project to the system is possible, but the part will then be created in the system.
If a part is present in both the project and the system, and if the part in the project is "newer" than the system part, no data is transferred to the system. For this reason, the
button is grayed out for a single selection. The Complete current system menu item remains active, however, since this affects the entire dialog.
See also