Dialog Rights management: Permission groups

In this dialog, you can create permission groups and assign editing rights to them.

Overview of the main dialog elements:

If you have selected the Permission groups folder in the left-hand field, a list of all existing permission groups is displayed in the right-hand field.

The following predefined permission groups are supplied with Eplan:

Permission group

Rights

Administrators

Have all rights. This permission group cannot be edited or deleted.

Guests

Have restricted permission to work with the program. This permission group cannot be edited or deleted.

Master data editors

May edit master data such as symbols, forms, etc. This permission group can be edited or deleted - meaning that it serves as an example group.

Schematic editors

Have full rights except for editing master data. This permission group can be edited or deleted - meaning that it serves as an example group.

Warning:

The names of the permission groups supplied will be translated when another dialog language is used. Do not change the names of these permission groups, otherwise the translatability will be lost. Names that have been changed once will not be translated again even if you restore the original designation.

The following dialog elements are available for one individual permission group:

Find:

Enter the text for which the search is to be carried out in the rights into this field. You start the actual search with the [Enter] key. If you have not entered a search term, the field is characterized with the gray text "Find".

As soon as entering the first character, the list below the entry field displays all matches. If the entered text is not found in the rights, no matching results are displayed. Note that you do not have to worry about case-sensitivity when entering a search term.

If you select an entry in the list of matching results by mouse-click, then this term is applied to the entry field and search started. Subsequently only the respective right is displayed in the Rights field in the tree view.

If you want to return to the original view of tree display, remove the search term from the entry field. Click (Delete) to do so. As a result the selection originally made is restored in the tree structure.

Rights:

If you have opened the Permission groups folder in the left-hand field and selected a single permission group, a list of the possible rights is displayed in this field. The rights are divided into editing rights for commands, dialogs, and API actions. The rights for dialogs are identified by the additional symbol "[dialog]"; rights for API actions are identified by the additional symbol "[interface]". An icon in front of each entry indicates whether the permission group has the right or rights below the topic area.

Icon

Meaning

In front of an individual right: The right is assigned. In front of a topic area: All rights below the topic area are assigned.

In front of a topic area: The rights below the topic area are only assigned partially.

In front of an individual right: The right is not assigned. In front of a topic area: All rights below the topic area are not assigned.

For read-only permission groups. In front of an individual right: The right is assigned. In front of a topic area: All rights below the topic area are assigned.

For read-only permission groups. In front of a topic area: The rights below the topic area are only assigned partially.

For read-only permission groups. In front of an individual right: The right is not assigned. In front of a topic area: All rights below the topic area are not assigned.

If certain editing rights are revoked from a permission group, the associated commands are hidden. If a dialog is locked for a particular permission group, the assigned users can open the dialog, but cannot edit any data or documents. The settings dialogs are an exception: These are hidden when they are locked for a permission group.

If a permission group does not have the right for a certain API action, the assigned users cannot use the corresponding command when editing via the command line.

Assigned users:

If you have selected a permission group on the left in the dialog, all users to whom this permission group is assigned are displayed here. The user name and associated description text for each user are displayed.

See also