Rights Management

The rights management allows you to protect data from being accessed by unauthorized persons. The operating mode allows you to define whether Eplan is operated using rights management or not. By default the Without rights management operating mode is activated. To use the rights management, the Sign in with Eplan ID or Sign in with Windows user name operating mode must be activated.

If you operate Eplan using rights management, this has the following consequences:

  • In the Sign in with Eplan ID operating mode, the user must sign in at startup with their e-mail address and the password they specified when creating the Eplan ID.
  • In the Sign in with Windows user name operating mode, the Windows user name is used for the sign-in. If the (locally) signed-in Windows user is registered as an Eplan user, then the sign-in occurs automatically and the user does not need to enter their user name and password into Eplan.
  • The Eplan administrator can import users and create permission groups, and assign specific rights to them for editing projects. Both project data and editing functions can be locked. The associated commands are then hidden. In this manner, the system administrator makes only those commands available to each user that are required for their particular tasks.
  • Furthermore, the Eplan administrator can lock dialogs in the user interface. Locked dialogs can be opened but no data or documents can be edited in the dialog.
  • In addition, API actions can also be assigned or locked.
  • The settings can be configured and adjusted by the Eplan administrator at any time.

When working over a network, the internal access rights of the company network always have priority over the Eplan internal rights. It is not possible for (e.g.) a user with "Read-only rights" on the parts database server to change the master parts data, even if they have the required Eplan rights.

See also