Master Data in the Eplan Cloud

To simplify the exchange of master data between different users, a synchronization of master data with the Eplan Cloud is possible. As a master data creator you have the possibility to upload master data to the Eplan Cloud and make them available to other users. As a user you can download master data from the Eplan Cloud and use it during the project planning in Eplan. In addition, you can update your projects with the master data from the Eplan Cloud at any time and thus always have the most current data available. You must have signed in to the Eplan Cloud so that you can upload or download master data. You can find further information on Eplan Cloud products in the Eplan Information Portal.

The following is possible:

  • Master data can be uploaded from a local directory to the Eplan Cloud.
  • Master data can be downloaded from the Eplan Cloud into an associated local directory.
  • Differences in the master data between the Eplan Cloud directory and the associated local directory can be determined and synchronized manually.
  • Uploading and downloading take place in the background. You can continue working in the meantime. However, the respective symbol libraries are locked during this process.

Schemes for master data directories

The upload and download of master data is carried out by means of the Eplan scheme technique. The master data directories are saved in a user-specific scheme.

Note:

Only master data such as templates, symbols, forms, etc. are uploaded and downloaded. Projects, parts and translations that are included in the definition of a scheme are excluded here from uploading and downloading. By using the Eplan Cloud as a database source for the parts management you can also use and edit part master data from the Eplan Cloud locally.

Upload master data to the Eplan Cloud

In the Settings: Directories dialog you can select a local master data scheme and upload it to the Eplan Cloud. Such a local master data scheme may only contain local directories that are located in the default directory for master data $(EPLAN_DATA). The directories must not contain UNC paths, meaning that they must not be located on a network drive.

When a master data scheme is uploaded for the first time, a scheme of the same name with the supplement "(Eplan Cloud)" is automatically created in the Eplan Cloud, and corresponding directories are automatically created in the Eplan Cloud for the directories contained in the local scheme. Each time this scheme is uploaded again, the previously created Eplan Cloud directories are overwritten.

When a new local scheme is uploaded, the directories and data already existing in the Eplan Cloud are not deleted. New directories are created in the Eplan Cloud for new contents, and existing contents are overwritten. Overwriting of contents can occur when you upload several local schemes with partially identical directories.

Download master data from the Eplan Cloud

All users who are signed in to the Eplan Cloud in the same organization have the master data schemes available for this organization. You can select such a master data scheme for downloading in the Settings: Directories dialog. A confirmation prompt appears and after you confirm it, all data of the selected Eplan Cloud scheme is downloaded to a local directory $(EPLAN_CLOUD_DATA). In the local directory $(EPLAN_CLOUD_DATA) a corresponding directory structure is created as in the Eplan Cloud. The downloaded Eplan Cloud data is then available offline.

If many files are downloaded, a progress display is shown in the status bar.

In order for the directory structure in the local directory $(EPLAN_CLOUD_DATA) to remain identical to the directory structure in the Eplan Cloud, the Eplan Cloud master data schemes are write-protected and cannot be changed. Correspondingly, the input fields for the storage locations of the corresponding master data are grayed out in the Settings: Directories dialog after the selection of such a scheme.

Synchronization of master data with the Eplan Cloud

The synchronization between the master data in the Eplan Cloud and the master data in the associated local directories is carried out manually in a synchronization dialog. When Eplan is started, it is determined whether there are more recent master data in the Eplan Cloud. If this is the case, a message is displayed with the possibility to download the current master data or first branch to the synchronization dialog. In addition, the synchronization dialog can be called up manually at any time.

You can also manually copy directories and/or files into the directories below $(EPLAN_CLOUD_DATA). These will be uploaded to the Eplan Cloud after a manual synchronization.

See also