Dialog Rights management

In this dialog, you manage users and permission groups. To do this, you define the editing rights belonging to a permission group. You then assign the desired permission groups to the users. Users, assignments to permission groups, as well as the assignment of the rights to the permission groups are managed in a central file, the rights database.

If the rights database (via the operating system) was write-protected, then the Rights management dialog will also show "write-protected" in the heading line. If you carry out modifications in a write-protected rights database, these will not be saved, and a system message is generated.

Note:

Please note that administration of rights management is not multi-user-capable. Rights management should only be edited by one Eplan administrator at a certain time, otherwise, only the modifications of the Eplan administrator who closed rights management last will be saved.

Overview of the main dialog elements:

The following folders are displayed in the left-hand field:

  • Users: If you have selected this folder, the existing users are displayed on the right. These can be users and teams that were imported from the Eplan Cloud as well as Windows users and groups that were imported from Active Directory. If you have opened the folder, you can select individual users or teams/groups and specify their membership in permission groups.
  • Permission groups: If you have selected this folder, the existing permission groups are displayed on the right-hand side, and you can then edit them or create new permission groups. Once you have opened the folder, you can select individual permission groups and define their editing rights.
  • Operating mode: Here you define whether Eplan is operated with or without rights management.

Users, teams and permission groups are differentiated by the following icons:

Icon

Meaning

Users imported from the Eplan Cloud

Team imported from the Eplan Cloud, is displayed and managed in the rights management like a user.
The icon is also used for permission groups.

Users imported from Windows

Active Directory group imported from Windows, is displayed and managed in the rights management like a user.

[Import]:

Allows for a rights database to be imported from a previous Eplan version into the rights management. Select the desired database file (*.erm) in the subsequent dialog. This is an Eplan-internal file format which is used as of Version 2.3. An import of rights databases from older Eplan versions is not possible.

See also